Personal development, public engagement or procrastination?

Whatever it is, I’ve finally decided to start a blog.  I began an ecology PhD last autumn after several years working in science communication/public engagement, so a blog immediately seemed like a great way to organise my thoughts and develop writing skills while sharing a bit of what I was doing with others.  Unfortunately, I was soon too absorbed in my work to give it much thought and the idea fell by the wayside.  A lull in field and lab work over the last couple of weeks, combined with encouragement from friends, has convinced me to give up my ‘too busy’ excuse and give blogging a try.  I’m hoping to share some of the challenges and triumphs of working towards a PhD, as well as writing about the project I’m working on, research news and some more general ecology and nature topics.  Some posts on politics may also slip in, and maybe some cat pictures (I’m sorry, I just can’t help myself).

This entry was posted in Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

